February 27, 2013

In this issue

3rd Year Parts Technician Grads

The 3rd year Parts Technician class recently celebrated their graduation from GPRC. This was the first graduating class to complete all three years of their apprenticeship program at the Grande Prairie Campus. The class is pictured here with instructor, Craig Rode (left).

Preston Mildenberger received the Prairie Coast Equipment Award of Excellence which is awarded to a 3rd year parts student for the highest academic achievement. He is pictured above shaking hands with Instructor, Craig Rode, Chris Laue, Dean of Trades, Agriculture & Environment (far left) and Terry Taylor from Apprenticeship and Industry Training (far right).

Valerie Cade

GPRC has been very fortunate to host Valerie Cade, Author of "Bully-free at Work", for two days this week. Esteemed speaker and expert in the field of workplace bullying, Valerie held several sessions at GPRC to shed some light on the issues surrounding bullying, including ways to identify a bully and some tips on how to deal with situations involving bullying. The sessions were well attended and very well received by GPRC staff, faculty and administration alike. "She is an extremely pasionate and engaging speaker who tackles a subject that is often difficult to identify, let alone talk about".

Valerie will be holding one more session at GPRC tonight at 7:00 pm in the DJ Cardinal Performing Arts Centre. It is free of charge and open to everyone to attend.

Excellence in People

At each monthly Board of Governors meeting, staff and faculty recognitions are presented to the Board by Don Gnatiuk on behalf of the Executive Team:

• Two GPRC student-athletes have been recognized for their performances this past season. Josh Nicol has been selected as an ACAC All Conference player for Men’s Basketball. Josh was the captain of the team and had the unfortunate situation of having his nose broken a couple of times this year. His leadership has been recognized and rewarded. Kelly O’Hallahan was selected to the ACAC Women’s Basketball All Conference Team. In addition, Kelly is one of two nominees from the ACAC for the CCAA All Canadian Award. This is a huge honour for Kelly and one that is richly deserved as she was the leader for this year’s team. She was second in scoring in the conference and was in the top 10 in all other categories.
Congratulations to these two athletes for the recognition they have received.

• Three GPRC student-athletes have been selected to the ACAC Volleyball All Conference teams. John Morley was selected to the Men’s team while Kaitlyn Cordingley and Tonya Dueck were selected to the Women’s team. This is truly an honour for these athletes as selections are made by the coaches from across the conference. It means that they performed at a very high level throughout the season. Congratulations to the Kaitlyn, Tonya and John!

• Staff thanked and commended the grounds staff of all GPRC Campuses for keeping the parking lots and sidewalks safe for everyone to travel on!

• Thank you to the members of the Student Awards Committee who met over two evenings and selected 153 students to receive a combined total of $102,089 in bursary funds! The committee consists of Robin Watson, Jennifer McLean, Tony Penton, Hazel Liley, Anna LaPointe, Kelly Coulter, Brodie Heywood and the Financial Aid Team of Carla Basarab, Christine Gurlitz, Katherine Henderson, and Melanie Kellerman!

• A great job was done by everyone involved over the past several months in putting the Early Learning and Child Care courses (Year 1 and part of Year 2) online for the launch of the distance online program on January 1st, 2013. A big thank you to Anna Gillis, Lucie Campbell, Jason Fehr, Cheryl Head and Esther Heggelund for leading the way in showing us what had to be done to ensure students had little or no problems in registering and accessing the courses; to our distance tutors (Jennifer Durling, Colleen Halwa, Muriel Underwood, Wenda Housego, Jocelyn Smith, Sharon Strasdin, Christine Burrough, Jeanine Bourque) for reviewing, revising and assistance to students for the new courses; to our course writers who wrote, are currently writing and made revisions over and over again (Karen Kennedy, Donna Kilbey, Jeanine Bourque, Cassandra Kostuk, Dolly McArthur, Jocelyn Smith, Rebecca Evarts, Sharon Strasdin, Sally Jones, Cindy Carter); to Cindy Carter and Edith Mongrain for dealing with all of the students and to Executive for providing the funding for this very worthwhile project.

• Congratulations to Annie Smith for being recognized by the City of Grande Prairie Crime Prevention Unit, for her pilot project utilizing Drama students to perform anti-bullying plays in the public school. 6 groups of students performed 10 minute scenes and did talkbalks with students at IV Macklin, Derek Taylor, and Alexander Forbes Schools.

• Congratulations to the Wolves Athletics for receiving a Crime Prevention Award for its Compass Program. The Wolves Compass Program is one that includes educational tools, training and opportunities for the development of good community citizens. The program includes an alcohol education program, mentor training, and community work with organizations such as KidSport, AMA School Patrollers and the Canadian Cancer Society.